Back to All Events

Calefax, Paul Jacobs & Friends: Playing With Bach

Calefax Reed Quintet
Paul Jacobs, organ
Grand Electric
Additional performers, TBA

300 years on, the music of J. S. Bach continues to act as a kind of playground for both performers and composers who both play and transcribe his music. Hear innovative Bach transcriptions and paraphrases, both playful and serious, which pay homage to the master while carrying his music into the 21st century. Performers include the Calefax Reed Quintet (“engagingly atypical,” New Yorker), organist Paul Jacobs (“one of the major musicians of our time,” New Yorker), flutist ___, electric guitarist Mark Dancigers, and pianists ___ and ___.



J S Bach - Goldberg Variations, arr. Calefax
J S Bach – Sinfonia from Cantata No. 29, arr. Paul Jacobs
J S Bach – Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV , arr. Salvatore Sciarrino
J S Bach – Excerpts from Bach Cantatas, arr. György Kurtág
J S Bach – Chaconne from Violin Partita in D Minor, BWV , arr. Frederico Busoni
J S Bach – Preludes from the Well Tempered Clavier, arr. Grand Electric


Watch & Listen:

Hear organist Paul Jacobs perform his own version of Bach’s Sinfonia, BWV 29: